Baby Shower Gift – home made nursery decorations

12 Jul

My sister in law is expecting in September and for part of her shower gift, I decided to make some wall art for the nursery.  I originally saw this idea on Pinterest a while ago and loved it!

Image

I ordered a fat quarter bundle of coordinating fabric from Jody at Fabric Shoppe, and picked up some cross stitch hoops from Michaels.  I was told that places like Value Village would have them for super cheap, but I needed other craft supplies anyways, and they were only around $2 each.

Before you start, be sure to iron the fabric to get the crease lines out.  Then simply place the fabric through the hoop and cut away access fabric.

Image

I used a hot glue gun to make sure the fabric would stay in place, folding it over the hoop.

Image

If there is any extra fabric bunching inside the bottom of the hoop you might see it through the front, so be sure to cut the fabric short enough.

Image

Voila, you have instant nursery decor!  I will be adding a coordinating button letter to the gift once they have settled on a name.  These would look really nice on the wall over the crib, surrounding the button letter in the middle!

Image

2 Responses to “Baby Shower Gift – home made nursery decorations”

  1. Kristina July 12, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    Love those!! they look fantastic! I will totally have to do that for a gift or when we have another one!

  2. Andrea July 12, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    I’m so lucky to have such a creative and amazing sis-in-law!! I can’t wait to put this up 🙂

Leave a Reply

